Overtime & Wage Laws
Contact Laguna Beach Employment Lawyer Geniene Stillwell today at (949) 541-2731 if you believe that your employer is not complying with state wage and overtime laws!
California law requires employers to pay their employees an amount consistent with state minimum wage laws, in a timely fashion, and compensate all non-exempt (hourly workers as opposed to salaried) employees for all hours worked.
If an employee works more than eight hours in a workday, under California’s Wage and Overtime Laws, the employee is typically entitled to receive payment at one and a half times their rate of pay for every hour past the eighth. If an employee works twelve hours or more in a single workday, they are entitled to double time for every hour past the twelfth hour.
In situations where employees work “alternative schedules” (for example, four 10 hour shifts), employers are not required to pay overtime unless the employees work in excess of 40 hours per week. Additionally, when employees work for seven consecutive days in a row within a single workweek, they are entitled to receive overtime for the first eight hours of work on the seventh consecutive day, and double time after eight hours. Overtime wages must be paid on the regular payday for the week in which they were earned.
If an employee quits the employer must pay all wages due, as well as any unused vacation time, within 72 hours. If an employee is terminated, the employer must pay all wages due at the time of termination.
If you believe that your employer or former employer has committed an overtime or wage violation, contact the Laguna Beach Law Offices of Employment Lawyer Geniene Stillwell at (949) 541-2731. We have experience helping employees get the wages and overtime pay to which they are entitled!
We are located in Laguna Beach, California and represent clients throughout Southern California.